val922's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bribe Me Not

So my morals and ethics are making it difficult to keep a job. With the retail store at EC it was about my having a work ethic � I need structure, discipline and rules.

Now with TH my morals tell me to not bribe officers. Company policy views it as an appreciation of the service they perform (I agree) and as an incentive to keep the unsavory away by having police visible in the stores (I appreciate the protection and level of security they provide me when I�m alone for up 2 hours on the night shift but disagree with the way it is accomplished).

D says since I personally would give them free coffee if the choice were mine and the owners agree then not to make an issue of it. So here I am not making an issue of it.

I guess what really chaps my ass is that the impression I got from my Stupidvisor was A.) that I should do what I�m told and shut the fuck up B.) that personal ambition would be crushed beneath corporate wheels and C.) that she would pull rank on me on a moral issue.

My internal answer is A.) I do not follow blindly like a sheep, I am an independent thinker with my own mind and questions B.) they don�t pay me enough to throw away my entire POTENTIAL future and C.) I will not be bullied into doing something wrong.

My external answer at the moment was to keep quiet, contact the owner and make sure giving something away would not get me canned, to ask D�s opinion on the matter and sleep on it. So I guess I will be giving officers a freebie because I need this job until at least Aug. 13th, the freebie is a small thing, the owner give the go ahead and I personally do NOT mean it as a bribe.

At least this time I had the presence of mind not to quit in a huff. See I did learn something at EC � the first 2 months is an adjustment period. I do love the job and my co-workers even the owners. So dear reader it is off to bed I go to sleep on it � hell who knows maybe my panties got in a bunch cause I was tired and needed a smoke.

Week 4 and 5 are coming on August 11th I promise.

9:21 a.m. - Friday, Aug. 04, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

chickpea981
mare-ingenii
weirdaunt
curious-me
hexychick
tamarahawk