val922's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Strep & Snow

Monday morning I attended work doped up because I had a sore throat. Nothing I took seemed to last longer than 2 hours so by the end of the day I was thinking that I had made a heroic effort at showing up instead of calling in. That night I had tried everything in my arsenal of cold medications, colds, flu, Nyquil, Buckley�s (awful shit) Tylenols 1 and 3 and nothing I mean nothing would last longer than 2 hours and that was about the length of sleep I got that night.

Tuesday morning I succumbed to my illness and actually carried myself to the Doctor. I�ve said it before and I�ll say it again I will not go to the Doctor unless I am dieing or whatever I have can�t be cured by me. I had narrowed it down to 1 of 2 things Strep throat or Mono both of which would require antibiotics to get better and I was certain that that medication would begin to make me feel better within 24 hours so I procrastinated as long as I dared and went at 1:30 in the afternoon. The verdict - Strep Throat.

Kudos to Canada for it not costing anything to see the Doc but what�s up with having to pay for the medication to make you feel better $65 freaking dollars later and that didn�t include the $15 cost of the note for work. Don�t even get me started on the fact that D went to fill his new prescription for his asthma yesterday and it cost him $100.58. Needless to say we are looking at his coverage from work to see if we can get any of that $180 back.

I�m contagious you see so I missed 3 days of work and really didn�t feel all that bad. Besides the fact that talking irritated my throat and a rumor that if 1 person in a Call Center gets sick everyone does I could have been at work. Not only did the medication cost $180 for both D and I but cumulatively we have missed 5 days of work that amounts to $451 in lost wages. ARRGGGHHHH!!!

I�m eligible to work tomorrow but that�s the one day we aren�t open so I go back to work on Saturday. I have to go grocery shopping today or I�ll starve this weekend. C and D will be off to the much colder Ottawa for the weekend so I guess all will be quiet on the home front. Speaking of I saw my first snowflakes today. Have I ever mentioned how much I love snow?

Listen�did you hear that?

All the Canadians just groaned with frustrated agony at me. It�s funny the looks I get when I say that. I can�t help it I�m a winter born child and I LOVE SNOW!!! It could be worse I could wish for it. I don�t I wait patiently for that first magical blanket. When it arrives that�s when I feel surrounded by the spirit of love, kindness and charity. It is my season and I am most comfortable in it � complete and content.

2:43 p.m. - Thursday, Nov. 02, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

chickpea981
mare-ingenii
weirdaunt
curious-me
hexychick
tamarahawk