val922's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yoi's Wedding Part 1 - Backstory

A week ago today D and I attended the wedding of a very close and dear friend of ours. Someone D has known for about 6 or 7 years. They started out working for Intercon together both with hopes of becoming Police Officers. Yoi made it and D is still trying.

I met Yoi in March of 2003. It was the easiest friendship I have ever had the pleasure of slipping into. I say that, that way because I believe most friendships should be fairly easy, nothing forced or strained. That�s not to say that friendship isn�t worth fighting for, indeed it is. Only just that �Friendship Happens�. D said even the way Yoi took to me was mildly surprising.

Yoi is of Asian/Dutch decent. Both of his parents are Chinese but some how ended up owning several restaurants in Holland. I�m not quite clear on the details and it really doesn�t matter except that it bears on the wedding.

At any rate I had heard horror stories about Yoi�s past romantic history. He�s a cop but he�s a Teddy Bear at heart. He�s stable, has an established career, he�s fun and funny but somehow managed to be single half of the time I�ve known him for. It even seemed that he�d decided dating wasn�t going to be a priority in his life until about a year and a half ago. Someone introduced him to Betty (also Asian) and all seemed to be going well.

Last year about this time D and I attended Yoi�s birthday celebration. It was a drinking free for all and the only rule was if you served Yoi a shot you had to have one with him. There had to be at least 30 of us to his one and we�d all made our mission to get him right snookered. Including my then 10 year old daughter.

Picture this. About half of those in attendance are cops, everyone is sitting around Yoi�s backyard in a semi circle around the table of booze in various folding chairs, it�s grown quite dark but Yoi�s turned on something like stadium lights (on a smaller scale). C pours him a shot of Vodka and offers it to him, he�s tipsy at this point and really doesn�t want anymore so he says,�You have to have one with me�.

C looks at me, I look at D and he says, �According to the letter of the law if her parents are present and consenting she may have an alcoholic beverage in the privacy of a domicile. Within reason.� (Alcohol poisoning you see.)

C had moved to the middle of the circle as I said,�If you think you�re woman enough toss �er back.�

A hush had fallen aver the congregation. No sooner than the words left my lips than she jerked her head back and took the shot in one fell swoop. The crowd was stunned a moment and then broke into cheers.

Sorry about the side tangent but it comes to bear a little later on. Much later Yoi is piss drunk, so much so that he can barely stand. He�s knows he�s well past his limit and avoiding food and that paint thinner they call alcohol like the plague. We�ve managed to maneuver him into a chair while Betty (whose been playing hostess all evening) cleans up. While she�s gone I broach the topic of a possible proposal to which he whisper slurs that plans are in the works.

About that time he starts feeling nauseous and Betty appears from inside. She's helping him hobble around, then decides to run inside for a plastic bag for him to throw up in. Which he actually does use to do just that. The whole time she is holding the bag for him. And that's about the time everyone figured out that this was the girl for Yoi.

The proposal was followed about 9 months later by a wedding invitation as you well may have guessed by now.

Part 2 shall entail the Wedding itself. I�d finish it now except I was taught most readers won�t stick around on the net to scroll more than 2 pages. And as we all know I am a natural born talker so some posts get chopped up.

10:20 p.m. - Saturday, Sept. 23, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

chickpea981
mare-ingenii
weirdaunt
curious-me
hexychick
tamarahawk