val922's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yoi's Wedding Part 3 - The Reception

The Reception was held at Golden Court Abalone Restaurant in Richmond Hill. Yoi & Betty spent the next hour or so standing on the dance floor to allow everyone a chance to have their pictures taken with the happy couple. When our turn arrived I asked Betty, �Are you tired of smiling yet?� She said, �My face hurts and I�m afraid it�s frozen like this.� Before we gave the couple back to their adoring audience Betty whispered at me,�Open bar.� And while I�d never have believed it her smile actually got bigger and brighter. Girl can drink you under the table and hold her liquor but looks so sweet and innocent while doing it.

The centerpieces on the table were Calla Lilies held inside a tall glass vase by stones. These were offered as gifts to one lucky winner. The previous wedding�s centerpieces were given to the person whose birthday was closest to the Grooms. This time the person whose birthday was closest to the groom got to be the presenter of the gift to the 3rd person on their left. Which got a laugh. The music was done by an MC/DJ with a karaoke machine. Until the woman at our table told us I hadn�t even noticed that he was singing all the songs himself. Perfect pitch, perfect tone, and great inflection � it seems he�s something of a celebrity for his talent.

Every time we approached the bar there seemed to be a group handing out shots, they of course asked where the little one from Yoi�s birthday was. All night long C said that was how people remembered her. She was embarrassed by this, I of course thought it funny.

Beside the centerpiece was a menu when I took my turn to look at it I noted an extremely long list:

Roasted Slice Duckling Pig

Stir-fried Shrimp & Scallop wVegetable

Deep Fried Crab Claw

Shark Fin Soup wShredded Chicken

Beef Fillet in Chinese Style

Deep Fried Crispy Chicken

Stir Fried Lobster wGreen Onion
s
Fish Fillet wVegetable

House Special Fried Rice

Braised E-Fu Noodle

Fancy Pastries

Sweet Red Bean Soup

I glanced at D and asked, �Is this what we have to choose from or are we being served all of this?� (It turns out all of it!) C had occupied herself with learning how to work the plastic chop sticks. She asked me how but unfortunately I didn�t feel versed enough to teach her. I excused myself for a stick of fresh air only to return and find the elderly Asian chap at our table gleefully teaching C chop stick techniques. C whispered to me as I sat down, �Isn�t it neat that he was willing to teach me?

To which I replied, �He probably thinks it�s just as neat that you are interested in learning something about another culture.� And from that point forward in the meal his daughter gave us the benefit of her heritage by helping us to know what sauce went with which course. Telling us about the exotic touches accompanying some of them. (Cuddle fish � that�s jellyfish tentacles if you didn�t know). Everyone at our table at least TRIED everything put in front of them even if they didn�t eat all of it. Which is quite the feat since D hates seafood. I was very proud of my little family again as our own personal Chinese director said, �At least you�re trying it. Most of the people at the other tables are just looking at it.�

Personally I took it as an opportunity to try something I wouldn�t otherwise order for myself and as a point of respect for the heritage of the people we were there to celebrate. What is life but a chance to experience new things? You never know what you�ll like until you try it. I certainly learned a thing or to about myself. I also learned the reason Chinese drink Jasmine tea � hot with no sugar or cream is because the majority of the food is so greasy that they need to wash the toxins out of their systems and the tea was how they did that.

About the second course the bride was going to throw the bouquet. I was forced to go even though D and I are considered common-law. Specifically in the eyes of the Canadian government as attested by the Statutory Declaration of Common-Law Union (form IMM 5409 (06-2002) E ) notarized and signed by both he and I in January 2004. Apparently this was not good enough so I followed my daughter to the dance floor, situated myself to the far left but up front. Yoi gave me a quizzical look, I shrugged my shoulders and said they made me. He immediately yells to Betty to throw it in my direction. I�m blushing, and accepting of my fate. I decide if it sails my way I will catch it, even reach my hand up if it appears to go over my head. It would have been headed right for me but luckily she didn�t throw it with enough force for it to do more than clear her head. It landed on the floor in front of C who dived for it. That was not part of the deal I made with myself I would not be involved in unladylike behavior over some flowers and a superstition.

After that, the bride changed into a different gown. Usually the bride will change her clothes five times on the wedding day. If it�s her first marriage, she will first appear in white; to symbolize the bride's purity. The second dress is a red traditional Chinese Choengsam dress, also known as Qi Pao, or Qun Kwa. She wore this to toast the guests as a couple. During the serving of shark fin soup, the couple went from table to table, doing this with all the guests. The third dress was her party dress the one she had her first dance in and the cutting of the cake.

Just after Yoi and Betty finished having their community toasts D and I had had the bright idea to handcuff the couple together. Yoi is a cop after all. It was funnier than it sounds considering it took 4 guys to get the cuff on Yoi slinging the bride around trying to catch him.

Throughout the dinner the bridal party had the couple play games. Eating a strawberry together with their hands behind their backs. Questions about how well they knew each other. My personal favorite was when they had Betty put a cell phone in the right leg of Yoi�s pants. Holding it from the outside she had to answer the phone and hold a conversation as she progressed it up the pant leg across the crotch and down the left pant leg. The first person she spoke with was her father and the second was Yoi�s mom. It was delightful. I have video.

All in all it was the best wedding I have ever had the pleasure to attend. So here�s to wishing them all the happiness possible in this life and the next.

8:23 a.m. - Tuesday, Sept. 26, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

chickpea981
mare-ingenii
weirdaunt
curious-me
hexychick
tamarahawk