val922's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Health

Okay then. I haven�t fallen off the face of the planet, disappeared or rolled over and died. Although I might have been better off at one point had the latter been true.

On Tuesday August 6th I went to work with major cramping in my torso and abdomen. I had taken quite a bit of medication beforehand hoping that the pain would ease. It really didn�t.

On Wednesday the 7th I was feeling about the same but I thought it was only because I hadn�t been awake very long and that it would subside once I busied myself with work. An hour into my shift I could have sworn that I was having something akin to unending, unceasing uterine contractions. These were accompanied by chills and very severe shakes and I�m starting to worry that I might have ODed on over the counter pain relief.

So I tried calling the main store to see if I could get someone to come in and replace me unfortunately no one was answering (later I found out that someone had not shown up for their shift over there). After that I attempted to call my manager who at midnight was not answering his phone (it usually takes him 4 hours to return voicemail). So I called my immediate supervisor who was supposed to be having surgery the next day and she advised me to call the owner, which I did. The owner said he would stay up all night and try to find my replacement or get the manager to call. He also told me to do as much as I could given the circumstances.

When the manager finally called he said it would be impossible to find someone to fill in for me (without even bothering to try) especially because the other store�s employee had done a no-call no-show. I was livid. He asked me if I could do it, to which I replied that I really didn�t have a choice now did I. I could walk out of the store doors wide open leaving no one there and ruin any chance I had of a job with them or anyone else for that matter or I could shake, cramp and service the patrons. I also conveyed to him that the very first person to show up for their shift was GOING to be my relief and that I was going to the ER immediately.

The relief that finally showed up was the supervisor scheduled for surgery and she showed up for her usual shift not because I needed help. Although she kicked me out of the store as soon as she heard what happened to get taken care of.

After 8 hours in the ER it turns out I had bleed into an ovarian cyst and advised that had I remained standing I could have ruptured it, fallen directly into shock and died. Ah, the joys of mismanaged work places. So the prognosis turned out to be a week of bed rest for the pain to ease, 3 � 6 weeks before I could return to strenuous activity (work) and if I didn�t adhere to this that they most likely would have to perform surgery. But the Doctor said that the pain and bed rest were specifically relative to the individual and therefore could not give me a note for the job other than to say that I had visit the ER and when.

Now you tell me of any work place that is going to give you 6 weeks off after only having been with them for 7 weeks without a doctor�s excuse. I discussed it with my family and we decided together that my health was more important than a job that was only paying me $7.75 an hour, overworking me and more concerned making money than the individual getting them there. I tell you I�m never going to understand employer�s who care nothing for their employee, keeping them happy and healthy so as to avoid the major problem this owner has � high turn over.

It�s been 3 weeks since then and I am only just barely able to do more than lay on the couch. Thank goodness for Tylenol 3 with codine. Last week I was doing 2 chores a week (dishes & dinner) this past week (dishes, dinner and 1 load of laundry a day). Next week I�m hoping to return to work but the job offer is mildly iffy so we�ll see.

4:06 p.m. - Friday, Sept. 01, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

chickpea981
mare-ingenii
weirdaunt
curious-me
hexychick
tamarahawk