val922's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No! No! No! YES!

Last week wasn�t really anything worth writing home about, so of course I didn�t. I was supposed to have Friday, Saturday and Sunday off but because I was sick those three days I decided to volunteer for a Saturday shift. Which in and of itself wasn�t a bad thing ( I still have 18 hours to make up) until the little Indian girl next to me pissed me off.

In a Call Centre the rules are simple:
1. Answer the phone.
2. If you have a question raise your hand.
3. Work as a team.
4. If there are calls in the que clear them before taking any breaks including lunches.
5. No internet surfing between calls.

My lunch was scheduled for 6:45 15 minutes before that the que didn�t get loaded but got a little busy as in 8 people in que. During the next 45 minutes 3 people were out of their seats chasing down the team leader (who was alone for the first time) to ask questions numerous times and the little Indian girl went for her 15 minute break with 3 people in que. The TL asked her if there were calls in que and she said no. Over those 45 minutes the que would fall to 3 then fill again to 8. By this point smoker (I can push my craving to 3 hours but at 4 it's full on bitch mode) that I am I was very frustrated. Okay that�s not quite the truth I was pissed.

I�ve been working this job for 3 weeks never in all that time has it ever taken the team 45 minutes to clear 8 calls. The team I trained with cleared a que of 20 in 15 minutes. The team I trained with would never leave their cohorts with even 1 person in que for their breaks and my team would TRY to answer the question themselves with the quick reference if the TL was busy or took longer than expected to get to them.

Finally I�d had enough I had to go on my 30 minute lunch or I was going to start yelling at the customers, which would not have been fair to them or professional. After I made this decision I took another 2 calls, then immediately spent the next 5 minutes talking this over with the TL. I was seething while I ate my lunch, thankfully the little Indian girl had enough sense to not talk to me let alone look at me in the cafeteria � good for her because I would have given it to her with both barrels. As is my custom after I finished my lunch I went down to have my smoke and was back at my desk 5 minutes early ready to log in. The little Indian girl was nowhere to be seen, when I informed the TL she found her asleep in the cafeteria.

Of course later she was caught surfing the net and deviating from script which is a huge No-no for the company whose campaign we are on. The TL even put me in charge once while she went to smoke (as there was no one else to relieve her) because I was the senior agent on the floor. Thank god my shift was only 6 hours. Needless to say I was happy to get out of there.

Sunday I had resigned myself to having a lazy lay around the house and recuperate day. Best laid plans and all that jazz D in rare form decided he wanted to get part of his Christmas shopping done and that he wanted it to be a family affair. This is a man who has refused 4 Christmases in a row to shop before the last week. So that�s what we did with our Sunday. The good news is we now have the shopping completed for his side of the family in their entirety, which is one less thing to worry about because since he goes north only every 2 weeks we will be celebrating with his family on the weekend of December 15th. We both agreed yesterday after work that after Sunday's hijinx we felt like we needed another day off. Of course last night we had to pick up the larger items bought on Sunday and none of us got to bed before midnight. Le sigh!

The gifts are exceptional so far this year and I think the rest will be just as wondrous. It�s been 3 years of us trying to have as wonderful a Christmas as our first year together. I believe this one is going to surpass them all. Now if I could only get a little snow the season and all it�s magic would be complete for me.

9:06 a.m. - Tuesday, Nov. 14, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

chickpea981
mare-ingenii
weirdaunt
curious-me
hexychick
tamarahawk