val922's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Work Community

Sigh I promised an update about my month of employment thus far. It has seemed a daunting task at best but here I sit certain I will fail to convey that which has occurred accurately enough. But alas let us begin before I tell myself once again I am too tired to attempt it.

On my 3rd day of employment my trainer Rain began to yell at me in front of the customers and co-workers. My response was to withdraw from the situation immediately and seek a mediator. Before I could ask for such he had blurted the entire thing to the assistant manager and continued to yell at me. I of course returned the favor now that we were safely out of the view of our patrons.

My issue here fell to the impropriety of the timing. If I have erred by all means address the issue � calmly, rationally and professionally away from others. All I am asking is for a little respect to build a proper foundation for team work. And with that one act, I established to him and the others that I would not be bullied and/or pushed around. At the time I was unaware of how important this would be.

By the second week it became apparent that the fact that I was a minority among my Bangladesh co-workers was also a huge factor. They are a tight knit community within this company�s 5 stores and in order to survive and rise among them you must prove that you 1.) Can and will stand your own ground 2.) That you can and will work just as hard as they do and that you 3.) Understand and practice respect for yourself as well as others.

By the 3rd week, having worked more overtime than I care to really contemplate doing everything I was asked without complaint, quickly and efficiently I had earned the respect of many of my co-workers and was presented by my now friend in respect and challenge Rain with my name badge sans �In training� which he said meant that I had earned their complete trust.

It became apparent mid-week that this indeed was an honor as Nos had been working there for 3 months (her work next to perfect every time) and she was still wearing her �In training� badge. It is not uncommon for me to hear at least once a day how I have impressed at least one of my co-workers in some way be it my ability to learn quickly, my willingness to work others hours or my endeavors to learn ever more as time goes by so that should the need arise I could do the work of 3 people (supervisor, counter & baker).

It always strikes me as odd when those who have been there longer than me look to me for guidance and support. I�m not saying it�s a bad thing by any means but even the owner has turned to me and asked if she was right.

The 4th week is a story unto itself and I prefer to save it for tomorrows post.

3:38 p.m. - Sunday, Jul. 30, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

chickpea981
mare-ingenii
weirdaunt
curious-me
hexychick
tamarahawk